24 July 2013
Visa achieved. Italy is super official now. Can't believe how quickly it's all happening.
28 July 2013
About to turn off the computer and pack it. Flight time is fast approaching. I'll have my phone for a few more hours and then don't try to contact it until I'm back in the US. Off to Europe. BBL!
29 July 2013
Alive in London!
6 August 2013
So I'm practically living in a mansion in Rome...but there's no AC and it's fucking hot. Oh and um...my first meal was spaghetti with pesto, breaded veal, bread and mozzarella, little pizzettes, and strawberries...all prepared by the Italian grandmother. Yes, it was that good.
7 August 2013
When this is your dinner (and first pizza in Italy) and you are told not to judge Italian pizza on this because it's considered pizza junk food (much like our Domino's). So, um, here you go American friends: this is what Domino's level pizza is in Italy. Oh and there are rice balls in that box. (accompanied by a picture)
8 August 2013
I don't think Celiac's or recovering alcoholics are allowed in Italy. Omgsomuchwhitebreadandalcoholyouhavenoidea...
8 August 2013
Heading to downtown Rome at 10:30pm for a little after dinner stroll with the fam. You know, the usual...omgwhatismylife?!
9 August 2013
Sitting in a restaurant outside of the Pantheon, I was discussing with the 16 yr old that his father seems to know every restaurant owner in Rome and how they never have to pay to eat there. I told him when he started dating he could bring girls there and impress them since he knows the owner and would get fancy things for free. He said, "Yes! Once I'm out of University perhaps and all that..." I interrupted him, "Or, you know, during University too." "Ahh yes," he said, "People do do that, do they? Date during University?" I laughed a "yes" and then turned to the 11 yr old and asked, "Do girls still have cooties to you?" He quizzically stared at me and said, "Sorry, I don't understand." I turned to the 16 yr old and asked if he knew what that meant. He said, "What is coootieees?" I burst out laughing and then had to explain the concept of cooties and even demonstrated a cootie shot on the 11 yr old. The 16 yr old said, "Oh no! He's quite the opposite of that. He has like 5 girlfriends." The 11 yr old had to vehemently object, "I've only had 3 girlfriends in my whole life!"
10 August 2013
When the problem with translation comes not from a language difference, but a gender difference. Re: asking males about hair conditioner.
12 August 2013
Speedos. So many speedos...
12 August 2013
Oh Italian men and their over-use of fragrance. smh
12 August 2013
Adorable. The 11 year old just asked me if I could tie his sneakers. And yet I kind of wonder why an 11 year old doesn't have that skill...
14 August 2013
Looking over this article with the 16 year old, we got to "Area Codes in Which Ludacris Claims to Have H*es" and he asks me "What are hoes?" I couldn't stop laughing to explain so he kept repeating the question....
Also he shared "Average Age of First Sexual Intercourse by Country" with the whole family, including the 11 year old, and they all got a kick out of it. Later, the 11 year old says to me, "Do you know (the 16 yr old) is still a virgin?"
Me: *Awkward laugh* Yeah...so?
16 year old: He thinks he's not a virgin because he's kissed a girl!
11 year old: *moving his tongue* It was with tongue!
Me: *Awkward laugh* Yeah...so?
16 year old: He thinks he's not a virgin because he's kissed a girl!
11 year old: *moving his tongue* It was with tongue!
15 August 2013
Important things learned: If I introduce myself by pronouncing my last name as I have grown up doing, Italians will think I am calling myself "gay." Not that there's anything wrong with that, but I better go with the Italian pronunciation...
23 August 2013
Today I've had the 16 year old ask me both "What do you mean by 'first base?'" and "What is a 'ladies' man?'" I think I'm a bad influence.
23 August 2013
*sigh* We're doing a creative writing assignment where the main character of a book needs to be gender swapped. We're doing a scene when the protagonist reflects on the first time he tried to kiss a girl at age 10. Trying to get some inspiration for the 16 year old to write about what those young first crushes feel like, I asked the 11 year old, "Have you ever had a girl you like like you back? When she held your hand or hugged you for the first time, how did it feel?" To which he responded, "Yes! Gorgeous...exciting to my *points to crotch*...and happy!" Clearly, I am not used to living with boys.
26 August 2013
You all are going to get seriously sick of my sunrise/sunset/beach pictures when I get back to Rome and upload them all. Just a warning. Also, yesterday is the first time I think I've ever consciously took the time to stop and watch both the sunrise and sunset of the same day.
27 August 2013
Remember that time a sting ray swam over my arm in the Tyrrhenian sea and then I watched the sunset from the toe of Italy over Sicily? Yeah, no biggie.
28 August 2013
Welp, apparently Chicken Parm is not an Italian dish and I got ridiculed for putting tomato sauce and cheese on my chicken cutlet at lunch. Seriously, the 11 year old walked away from the table...
30 August 2013
Things I don't understand: In Calabria, the men in the house would just open closed doors without knocking. Back in Rome, they politely knock, even when I have my door wide open, and won't walk in unless I tell them to. I'm confused.
August 2013
After a night at the club/disco Rebus, I watched the sun rise on the beach. (accompanied by video)
1 September 2013
I went to a new country today! Vatican City. Woot.
1 September 2013
Well, when in Rome...oh wait.
2 September 2013
I haven't had a First Day of School in 4 years. Like, OMG...what do I wear?! Will they like me? Pack lunch or buy lunch? Did Mom remember to pack my Lisa Frank folder? x)
4 September 2013
So the Italian word for describing the physical characteristic of an upturned nose is "francese." Do I smell a rivalry? (Pun intended)
5 September 2013
I found out the real Italian reason for the popped collar. I'll accept that if I have to here, but when I'm home in the US, unless someone can actually tell me the reason, I still won't excuse it.
7 September 2013
Well, that was a quick switch. I successfully asked a girl, in Italian, where she was from and when she answered Spain, I switched to Spanish but used an Italian ending which confused us both until she just said, "I speak English." Usually I mix Spanish into Italian. Is it a good sign that I just mixed Italian into Spanish instead?
8 September 2013
Spanish steps and girlie shopping day.--with Ewa and Jenny
9 September 2013
Well, I found Little America in Rome. I found the "Irish pub" in the style of an American "Irish Pub" where English speakers flock, karaoke happens 3 times a week, the staff speaks English, and both Magners and Franziskaner are on tap.
10 September 2013
Just taught the eleven year old the difference between "there," "their," and "they're" because I know how to translate them into Italian. Winning.
14 September 2013
Hung over, permanently dead laptop, lots of homework to work on, on a Saturday. Awesome night out with friends last night, internet capable e-reader, living in Europe. I guess you just have to take the bad in stride with the good.
16 September 2013
Ugh American stereotypes. In class the teacher asked us if there were any Italian foods or anything about Italian food we don't like and I brought up the fact that there are too many white/refined grains. Without missing a beat, a new German classmate goes, "But you're American! It's the same." Biotch, you have no idea what you're talking about...I miss my spelt bread.
18 September 2013
So I was working on a vocabulary list with the 11 year old. Obviously bored, he keeps bringing up random things to procrastinate. He starts telling me that last year he had a sex ed class where someone asked the teacher what a "69" is and then about her embarrassed explanation. Then the 11 year old asks if I've ever done a 69, to which I respond, "I'm not going to answer that," and turn back to the next word on the vocab list: mound. Luckily, he didn't seem to recognize the double meaning of that word.
20 September 2013
We're going on a field trip with my language school to a place called Eataly tomorrow. I feel like a grade schooler all over again, minus the permission slip.
27 September 2013
Side note: A room full of Europeans laughed at the fact that the American (English) noise for a rooster is cock-a-doodle-doo.
4 October 2013
I must be getting this whole "looking like a Roman" thing down. On several occasions, I've had tourists stop me and ask if I speak English and then for directions. I'd like to thank London and NYC for my "blase city dweller" training.
9 October 2013
17 October 2013
Dear Italy, Why must you have a general transport strike the ONE weekend I have free time to travel and had been making plans to travel? Non mi piace x(
20 October 2013
So I found a place here where you can go bowling in an arcade and it actually gives you TICKETS for prizes! 2 per bowl, 5 for a spare, 10 for a strike. I didn't find out what a turkey gives you. And the bowling balls were the same as at home, in lbs, same color-coding and everything. Now if only they did extreme bowling...*insert shout out to home friends I miss here*
23 October 2013
What is life telling me? This morning I saw a car covered with the English word "Two," which is my unlucky number. I got to class and we were covering "superstizioni" in which I got asked what my unlucky number was, along with other superstitions (apparently in Russia and Sweden it's unlucky to put your keys directly on a table...who knew?). Finally, just now for the third time in the past 24 hours, I accidentally ended up with food that contained fish. Strano giorno!
29 October 2013
Realizing you look kind of hipster today but then knowing "hipster" isn't really a known fashion trend here so you probably won't be judged for it.
30 October 2013
When you've been waiting at the bus stop for over an hour and traffic is slow due to a nearby car accident, every "Deposito" or "Fuori servico" bus that drives by is an evil tease...
31 October 2013
The one Halloween I'm spending in 70+ degree weather and could wear any costume without fear of freezing, I have no costume and no Halloween plans. Funny how life works. However, I did play Italian Taboo today and found an awesome shop called "Storia e Magia" (very appropriate for the day). Va bene.
9 September 2013
Well, I found Little America in Rome. I found the "Irish pub" in the style of an American "Irish Pub" where English speakers flock, karaoke happens 3 times a week, the staff speaks English, and both Magners and Franziskaner are on tap.
10 September 2013
Just taught the eleven year old the difference between "there," "their," and "they're" because I know how to translate them into Italian. Winning.
14 September 2013
Hung over, permanently dead laptop, lots of homework to work on, on a Saturday. Awesome night out with friends last night, internet capable e-reader, living in Europe. I guess you just have to take the bad in stride with the good.
16 September 2013
Ugh American stereotypes. In class the teacher asked us if there were any Italian foods or anything about Italian food we don't like and I brought up the fact that there are too many white/refined grains. Without missing a beat, a new German classmate goes, "But you're American! It's the same." Biotch, you have no idea what you're talking about...I miss my spelt bread.
18 September 2013
So I was working on a vocabulary list with the 11 year old. Obviously bored, he keeps bringing up random things to procrastinate. He starts telling me that last year he had a sex ed class where someone asked the teacher what a "69" is and then about her embarrassed explanation. Then the 11 year old asks if I've ever done a 69, to which I respond, "I'm not going to answer that," and turn back to the next word on the vocab list: mound. Luckily, he didn't seem to recognize the double meaning of that word.
20 September 2013
We're going on a field trip with my language school to a place called Eataly tomorrow. I feel like a grade schooler all over again, minus the permission slip.
27 September 2013
Side note: A room full of Europeans laughed at the fact that the American (English) noise for a rooster is cock-a-doodle-doo.
4 October 2013
I must be getting this whole "looking like a Roman" thing down. On several occasions, I've had tourists stop me and ask if I speak English and then for directions. I'd like to thank London and NYC for my "blase city dweller" training.
9 October 2013
It's the little things:
The mother at 7:20pm: [12 year old] eats now. Would you like to eat dinner now also?
Me: YES!
The mother at 7:20pm: [12 year old] eats now. Would you like to eat dinner now also?
Me: YES!
Oh normal dinner times, how I miss you. I can't get accustomed to a 9:30/10pm dinnertime.
17 October 2013
Dear Italy, Why must you have a general transport strike the ONE weekend I have free time to travel and had been making plans to travel? Non mi piace x(
20 October 2013
So I found a place here where you can go bowling in an arcade and it actually gives you TICKETS for prizes! 2 per bowl, 5 for a spare, 10 for a strike. I didn't find out what a turkey gives you. And the bowling balls were the same as at home, in lbs, same color-coding and everything. Now if only they did extreme bowling...*insert shout out to home friends I miss here*
23 October 2013
What is life telling me? This morning I saw a car covered with the English word "Two," which is my unlucky number. I got to class and we were covering "superstizioni" in which I got asked what my unlucky number was, along with other superstitions (apparently in Russia and Sweden it's unlucky to put your keys directly on a table...who knew?). Finally, just now for the third time in the past 24 hours, I accidentally ended up with food that contained fish. Strano giorno!
29 October 2013
Realizing you look kind of hipster today but then knowing "hipster" isn't really a known fashion trend here so you probably won't be judged for it.
30 October 2013
When you've been waiting at the bus stop for over an hour and traffic is slow due to a nearby car accident, every "Deposito" or "Fuori servico" bus that drives by is an evil tease...
31 October 2013
The one Halloween I'm spending in 70+ degree weather and could wear any costume without fear of freezing, I have no costume and no Halloween plans. Funny how life works. However, I did play Italian Taboo today and found an awesome shop called "Storia e Magia" (very appropriate for the day). Va bene.
November 2013
A little trip to the medieval town of Viterbo.
4 November 2013
I feel like in Rome I've experienced the most instances of lightening-flash-followed-by-immediate-boom in thunderstorms. Usually at home they're farther off. I can see how they can be slightly terrifying now.
10 November 2013
Dear Life, When I said, "I miss theatre," I did NOT mean, "Oh please let the 16 year old be studying Hamlet this year!" -.-
4 November 2013
I feel like in Rome I've experienced the most instances of lightening-flash-followed-by-immediate-boom in thunderstorms. Usually at home they're farther off. I can see how they can be slightly terrifying now.
10 November 2013
Dear Life, When I said, "I miss theatre," I did NOT mean, "Oh please let the 16 year old be studying Hamlet this year!" -.-
12 November 2013
For 103 euro I just bought 2 warm coats, a pair of tall black boots, and a sweater-shawl thing. And they threw in one of those chinese wall calendars for free. I think I just found my new favorite store in Rome. The bargain shopper in me is incredibly satisfied.
14 November 2013
The 12 year old laughed at my tattoo ideas, saying they were the stupidest ideas he ever heard...then went on to tell me about the Pepsi symbol tattoo he wants on his arm along with "The Best in the World" tattooed around his belly button. O.o
15 November 2013
Sitting in a community-style theatre, about to see Table Manners (word to my London 2008 peeps), and I just heard a woman say, "I'm sitting here so I can see the perspective she created." And it's starting late. I'm home.
21 November 2013
In case anyone was curious, late November in Rome is like New England in April: in the 50s and with many periods of rain. My body is seasonally confused.
24 November 2013
You know you're sick when your mental state went from, "Can this homework please be done so I can go out," to "Can this homework please be done so I can curl up in my bed?" A fever: the perfect way to end a work-filled weekend. -.-
14 November 2013
The 12 year old laughed at my tattoo ideas, saying they were the stupidest ideas he ever heard...then went on to tell me about the Pepsi symbol tattoo he wants on his arm along with "The Best in the World" tattooed around his belly button. O.o
15 November 2013
Sitting in a community-style theatre, about to see Table Manners (word to my London 2008 peeps), and I just heard a woman say, "I'm sitting here so I can see the perspective she created." And it's starting late. I'm home.
21 November 2013
In case anyone was curious, late November in Rome is like New England in April: in the 50s and with many periods of rain. My body is seasonally confused.
24 November 2013
You know you're sick when your mental state went from, "Can this homework please be done so I can go out," to "Can this homework please be done so I can curl up in my bed?" A fever: the perfect way to end a work-filled weekend. -.-
27 November 2013
When a 12 year old insults you in Italian, it sounds so different from English. "Sei antipatico!" versus "You're mean!" Still, does anyone have any tips on how to deal with disrespectful 12 year olds? (This wasn't the full extent of his rudeness) Lui è molto maleducato e viziato qualche volta. -.-
28 November 2013
My sins as an English tutor (as described by the 12 year old): 1. I'm "rigid" and "amorphous" ("That's an insult, right?") 2. I don't let him go on the internet for answers to his science homework 3. "You don't even smoke! Another tutor let me smoke. I need it!" Ahh, from the mouths of babes.
5 December 2013
The 12 year old excitedly knocked on my door to tell me Connecticut was on the news for growing the biggest Christmas tree ever for Rockefeller Center. I think we're good again.
6 December 2013
Damn...I wish I had brought my Spring Awakening T-shirt with me. SO EXCITED to see my favorite musical in Rome tonight. x) Somebody stop me from spending all my money at the swag table. I wish I could have all of my other SA buddies with me to see the Italian production
9 December 2013
Welp, the 12 year old is mad at me again because when I went out yesterday afternoon, I didn't tell him if I'd be home for dinner. I didn't know at 25 years old I had to report to a 12 year old about when I'd be coming home...
- I told him I was going out with a friend before I left. Apparently his Nonna yelled at him because he didn't know if I'd be home for dinner, but he didn't ask me when I left and I had taken care of myself for breakfast and lunch, so I figured it was an on-my-own-for-food day (the rest of the family was gone the last 2 days).
-FALSE ALARM: We watched "Patch Adams" together, so I think we're okay for now.
11 December 2013
I was sitting on the Metro when a group of teenagers got on. My first thought was that, by their fashion and general look, they seemed American. However, whenever I see a group of kids here sans parents, they're always Italian. A few minutes later I realized that I could hear English if I listened past my earphones. BAM. Americans. I am getting way too good at telling foreigners and locals apart.
15 December 2013
Well, my student just got accepted early action into Georgetown University. So at least his safety school is covered. -.- Yeah, you read that right.
16 December 2013
An awkward moment I can't seem to get past here in Italy: that split second where you either go in for the hello/good-bye cheek kisses or you don't. Especially if you JUST met the person. I almost see these internal thoughts going on in that second:
Them: Saying ciao! Time for cheek kisses...wait, but she's American. Does she do that?
Me: It looks like they want to do the cheek kiss. But I just met them...is it too soon? I'll only go if they go.
Them: She's not going in for it so I guess we'll just stick with the handshake.
Me: Oops guess not. They probably think I'm cold or something now. I would have if they would have! unsure emoticon I feel awkward turtle. Don't hate me!
Them: Saying ciao! Time for cheek kisses...wait, but she's American. Does she do that?
Me: It looks like they want to do the cheek kiss. But I just met them...is it too soon? I'll only go if they go.
Them: She's not going in for it so I guess we'll just stick with the handshake.
Me: Oops guess not. They probably think I'm cold or something now. I would have if they would have! unsure emoticon I feel awkward turtle. Don't hate me!
17 December 2013
Last night the 12 year old got upset that he had to write "Florence" instead of "Firenze" on his Social Studies homework (that is in English). Making me responsible for the English language, he started to whine about how it's not right that we change the names of places. Then I said, "What about London? It's not 'Londra' but that's what you call it." BAM. Case won.
17 December 2013
After a discussion on why we capitalize "I" in English (he thinks it's stupid), the 12 year old asked me, "Do you even type text messages properly in English?" I said yes and he couldn't believe it and told me, "I even write "cazzo" with a "k" to my friends!" I went into my phone to try and show him a text to prove it and realized my last several text messages were too inappropriate to show him. Woops.
20 December 2013
Hey Brain! Remember when we moved to Italy and you kept jumping to Spanish when learning Italian and you had to train yourself out of certain habits? JUST KIDDING. Spanish it is this weekend! Waiting in the airport to head to Barcelona
21 December 2013
Things I've learned about Barcelona so far: I've seen both a "Dunkin Coffee" and Starbucks, so I must be back in civilization. The water is really hard and so I think my hair is going to hate me. It's normal to have a cured pig leg chilling in your kitchen that you carve yourself. They don't really speak Spanish--they speak Catalan which is a mix of Spanish, accented Italian, and god knows what else--rendering my high school Spanish mostly useless and my brain confused. And most importantly, I've learned how accustomed to Italy I've become because I find myself comparing things here with things in Italy more than with the US. Italia is wiggling its way into my heart after all.
24 December 2013
So apparently Christmas Eve is a huge party night here in Germany. I'm okay with that. Oh and it's like 60 degrees out. Merry Christmas
29 December 2013
Went to a bar with 2 live pumas in the back...because that's how Prague does things. One of them meowed and purred at us. Most unexpectedly friendly animal noise ever. So we know what the Puma says, but still working on what the fox says...
29 December 2013
So, apparently I can cook. Whoda thunk it? I made both breakfast and dinner without a recipe in hand and it was actually good. Or ar least I didn't poison Jenny or Ewa. Woot.
-Our own kind of concoction. Pasta both bought in Rome and Prague with a 3 cheese sauce and sauteed onions and tomatoes. We were pondering names for it, such as "What the Fox Eats"
31 December 2013
In Stockholm for less than 24 hrs and so far I've run into a friend on one of the busiest streets of Stockholm, met up with another friend I didn't think would be here, made new friends, learned some Swedish words, and got hit on by a drunk, handsy Swede in the bar who after 5 minutes of talking asked if he could kiss me (I told him I needed to find my friends and disappeared into the crowd). Stockholm, you sure are an interesting place.
1 January 2014
O.o If you told me last year how I would ring in 2014 in Stockholm, let alone Europe, I would have called you a liar. 2013 turned out to be a good year, so let's hope 2014 builds upon that. I just wish I had taken more pictures of the night.
1 January 2014
You know you're spoiled with the life you have when you're pouting about leaving Stockholm to go home to Rome...
2 January 2013
Back in Rome after an amazing 2 weeks exploring Europe. Thank you to all the friends who let me visit, showed me around, and created awesome memories. To all the new friends I made, it was amazing to meet you and I hope we have adventures in the future! To "Eat, Sleep, Rave, Repeat," "What does the fox say?" surprise meetings, a New Year's Eve that is still kind of blurry, and falling in love with another city (London has found competition in Stockholm). So much happened and I can only express a fraction of it to all of you. I really hope you all like cityscapes though. Those will be coming soon.
PS: I find it funny that at home in the US there are all of these statuses about snowstorms and in Sweden, the notoriously snowy country, there was no snow and the coldest I ever saw it get there was 3 C/37 F at night. And just to brag, in Rome it's in the 50's (F). Stay safe in the snow home-people!
4 January 2014
Eating homemade tiramisu in Italy= happy Shannon.
6 January 2014
Putting up all of my Euro-trip photos made me realize something. I constantly wrote the words "reunited with" on photos from every country I visited. It made me realize how lucky I am that no matter where I go in the world, I am not alone. I am truly blessed with an amazing network of people around me and I love you all. It might be a matter of hours, days, weeks, months, or years, but I will always look forward to my next reunion with you all.
17 January 2014
Overheard in Rome: An English speaker teaching Italians the proper pronounciation of "shit." "It's shIt, not sheet."
21 January 2014
Random Italy observation: In the US we often plug in our headphones and stare at our phones/mp3 players assuming we are in our own bubbles and no one will bother us...and it works. You hesitate asking your question or making a comment to the person who is plugged in and find someone else. In Italy, this is false. People will talk to you with or without headphones in. I don't mind it because I like being broken out of my bubble and forced to practice my Italian, even if I fail miserably...but I would assume there are some introverts who would hate it. Personal bubbles don't really exist here...
21 January 2014
No, no. Please, re-teach me how to balance chemical equations that I haven't done in 9 years so the ENGLISH tutor can teach the 12 year old math/chemistry. That makes sense. -.-
24 January 2014
I think I'm dying a little from laughter. The 12 year old just came knocking excitedly on my door going, "I dyed my hair blonde!" I come out to see he essentially has frosted tips and looks like he's straight out of a boy band. His brother described it as looking like a guinea pig's fur. Too funny.
31 January 2014
I've gone to class in a lot of bad weather, but when your driveway has become an actual pond that a human being could go swimming in (okay, admittedly just a toddler) it's time to just stay home.
31 January 2014
Made a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch and taught the 12 year old what a PB&J is after dinner. Is my American showing?
3 February 2014
I peeked at the attendance sheet today in class and saw that we are marked as level B1/B2 now. I'm officially intermediate at Italian xD Funny how I'm probably more fluent after 5 months in Italian than I was after 7 years in Spanish. If you want to learn a language, go to the country.
7 February 2014
Sat outside in the sun in short sleeves today. My windows are open and it feels like spring. How's that snow goin' for you CT? ;)
10 February 2014
Dear ATAC, Why has the app been putting my bus the same number of stops away from me for the past 20 minutes with time away INCREASING? And then why does a bus I know of that has a stop nearby but completely different route drive past my stop full of people (so definitely not fuori servizio)? Go home, you're drunk.
14 February 2014
This is the one holiday I don't mind working...in fact I volunteered...in order to enjoy the sun tomorrow. Carnival will be my big February holiday
17 February 2014
For those of you who know me well, you know I live in flip-flops as long as possible from the summer into the fall and as early as possible in the spring because I don't like shoes very much. Tomorrow is supposed to be flip-flop weather (high 72)...and yet it's February. I'm conflicted.
18 February 2014
29 December 2013
Went to a bar with 2 live pumas in the back...because that's how Prague does things. One of them meowed and purred at us. Most unexpectedly friendly animal noise ever. So we know what the Puma says, but still working on what the fox says...
29 December 2013
So, apparently I can cook. Whoda thunk it? I made both breakfast and dinner without a recipe in hand and it was actually good. Or ar least I didn't poison Jenny or Ewa. Woot.
-Our own kind of concoction. Pasta both bought in Rome and Prague with a 3 cheese sauce and sauteed onions and tomatoes. We were pondering names for it, such as "What the Fox Eats"
31 December 2013
In Stockholm for less than 24 hrs and so far I've run into a friend on one of the busiest streets of Stockholm, met up with another friend I didn't think would be here, made new friends, learned some Swedish words, and got hit on by a drunk, handsy Swede in the bar who after 5 minutes of talking asked if he could kiss me (I told him I needed to find my friends and disappeared into the crowd). Stockholm, you sure are an interesting place.
1 January 2014
O.o If you told me last year how I would ring in 2014 in Stockholm, let alone Europe, I would have called you a liar. 2013 turned out to be a good year, so let's hope 2014 builds upon that. I just wish I had taken more pictures of the night.
1 January 2014
You know you're spoiled with the life you have when you're pouting about leaving Stockholm to go home to Rome...
2 January 2013
Back in Rome after an amazing 2 weeks exploring Europe. Thank you to all the friends who let me visit, showed me around, and created awesome memories. To all the new friends I made, it was amazing to meet you and I hope we have adventures in the future! To "Eat, Sleep, Rave, Repeat," "What does the fox say?" surprise meetings, a New Year's Eve that is still kind of blurry, and falling in love with another city (London has found competition in Stockholm). So much happened and I can only express a fraction of it to all of you. I really hope you all like cityscapes though. Those will be coming soon.
PS: I find it funny that at home in the US there are all of these statuses about snowstorms and in Sweden, the notoriously snowy country, there was no snow and the coldest I ever saw it get there was 3 C/37 F at night. And just to brag, in Rome it's in the 50's (F). Stay safe in the snow home-people!
4 January 2014
Eating homemade tiramisu in Italy= happy Shannon.
6 January 2014
Putting up all of my Euro-trip photos made me realize something. I constantly wrote the words "reunited with" on photos from every country I visited. It made me realize how lucky I am that no matter where I go in the world, I am not alone. I am truly blessed with an amazing network of people around me and I love you all. It might be a matter of hours, days, weeks, months, or years, but I will always look forward to my next reunion with you all.
17 January 2014
Overheard in Rome: An English speaker teaching Italians the proper pronounciation of "shit." "It's shIt, not sheet."
21 January 2014
Random Italy observation: In the US we often plug in our headphones and stare at our phones/mp3 players assuming we are in our own bubbles and no one will bother us...and it works. You hesitate asking your question or making a comment to the person who is plugged in and find someone else. In Italy, this is false. People will talk to you with or without headphones in. I don't mind it because I like being broken out of my bubble and forced to practice my Italian, even if I fail miserably...but I would assume there are some introverts who would hate it. Personal bubbles don't really exist here...
21 January 2014
No, no. Please, re-teach me how to balance chemical equations that I haven't done in 9 years so the ENGLISH tutor can teach the 12 year old math/chemistry. That makes sense. -.-
24 January 2014
I think I'm dying a little from laughter. The 12 year old just came knocking excitedly on my door going, "I dyed my hair blonde!" I come out to see he essentially has frosted tips and looks like he's straight out of a boy band. His brother described it as looking like a guinea pig's fur. Too funny.
31 January 2014
I've gone to class in a lot of bad weather, but when your driveway has become an actual pond that a human being could go swimming in (okay, admittedly just a toddler) it's time to just stay home.
31 January 2014
Made a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch and taught the 12 year old what a PB&J is after dinner. Is my American showing?
3 February 2014
I peeked at the attendance sheet today in class and saw that we are marked as level B1/B2 now. I'm officially intermediate at Italian xD Funny how I'm probably more fluent after 5 months in Italian than I was after 7 years in Spanish. If you want to learn a language, go to the country.
7 February 2014
Sat outside in the sun in short sleeves today. My windows are open and it feels like spring. How's that snow goin' for you CT? ;)
10 February 2014
Dear ATAC, Why has the app been putting my bus the same number of stops away from me for the past 20 minutes with time away INCREASING? And then why does a bus I know of that has a stop nearby but completely different route drive past my stop full of people (so definitely not fuori servizio)? Go home, you're drunk.
14 February 2014
This is the one holiday I don't mind working...in fact I volunteered...in order to enjoy the sun tomorrow. Carnival will be my big February holiday
17 February 2014
For those of you who know me well, you know I live in flip-flops as long as possible from the summer into the fall and as early as possible in the spring because I don't like shoes very much. Tomorrow is supposed to be flip-flop weather (high 72)...and yet it's February. I'm conflicted.
18 February 2014
Overheard on Metro A: I was sitting on the metro tonight, headed to a language exchange. Two guys got on and were standing in front of me. As soon as they started talking, I knew they were American. They had no idea I was American/could speak English and so were conversing pretty openly and loud in English. They were talking about their plans for the night and about a girl Guy 1 was dating. It got revealed that Guy 1 was actually seeing two girls and then this was said:
Guy 2: Which one do you like better?
Guy 1: The one I haven't slept with yet.
Guy 1: The one I haven't slept with yet.
20 February 2014
Just taught the 12 year old the wonders of everything you can dip in chocolate. Strawberries, bananas, and marshmallows, oh my!
23 February 2014
Going to a place I've been wanting to go since reading an article in a middle school science magazine x) Yay, Pompeii!
- I've been told of Herculaneum but decided to save it for another day. We wandered Pompeii and then were starving so we headed to Napoli and roamed around, ate some dolce, and then, of course, pizza.
28 February 2014
Venice is the most magical world I've ever been to. Sorry Disney...
--with Elizabeth
4 March, 2014
The 12 year old made a good point the other day while memorizing lines of Shakespeare for his English class. He said, "It's hard! It's not normal English, it's old English. It's like speaking a dialect!" After being envious of how all of my Italian friends can speak both Italian and a dialect, I finally realized that I understand a dialect too! :P
9 March 2014
Interesting experience last night: Yesterday was something here in Europe called International Woman's Day...which unlike something like "National Coffee Day" or other stupid holiday no one pays attention to in the US, people in Italy actually celebrate this. I was told that during the day, men would hand out flowers to women on the street (I was working and didn't experience this). Not on purpose, I went out for a girls night and got wished a Happy Woman's Day several times. While sitting in a bar, the girls were complaining about Italian men and how au pairing makes us think twice about having children because the couples with children seem miserable. A man sitting next to us interrupted and extended out to us an origami flower and said, in a British accent, "I couldn't help but overhearing you ladies talking and I just wanted to apologize on behalf of blokes everywhere. Usually this is the point where I would try to get at least one of your numbers, but on behalf of International Women's Day, I just wanted to apologize for all the blokes. Have a good night ladies." And he walked away. We all gushed about how sweet that was and my friend goes, "Of course! Because he's not Italian."
10 March 2014
I just printed Cards Against Humanity. I realized none of my European friends know this game. It is my duty, as an American, to corrupt them with it. Wish me luck.
12 March 2014
Watching the final season of How I Met Your Mother with the Rome subplot while in Rome is a little surreal. When they showed the Colosseum and skyline, I was like, "Oh hey, that's familiar. I can go there on the daily." The Italian also makes me twitch a bit...but I'm proud that I can pick out some of the things that aren't quite phrased correctly. Pssst. Lily. You would say "Va bene," not just "Bene."
14 March 2014
The 12 year old threw a tantrum tonight because his dad picked up the wrong type of cake for dessert. -.- Note: This was not a special occasion.
On another note, I showed him the Italian section from the latest HIMYM. His response: "What was that? Spanish? It's not even funny because it makes no sense it's so bad." Then he smirked and admitted that my Italian is (only slightly) better than that.
14 March 2014
I think I have successfully convinced my host family that Monday is a special holiday for me and I must be allowed to go out for it. I heart emoticon my Italian surname and all, but I gotta practice some of my Irish pride.
17 March 2014
Today I can celebrate both heritages of my name. St. Patrick's Day in Rome. Cheers! Salute! Chin chin! (Prost! Skol! Salud! Nostrovia!)
20 March 2014
Planning my journey back to the US is one of the most depressing things ever. Planning a trip back to Europe later is the only thing to ease the pain. :/
22 March 2014
You know you live in the boonies of Rome when the rose guy gets on your bus to commute to work--not to bother you to buy a rose.
24 March 2014
*sigh* Being sick as an adult sucks so much more than as a child. Also, it amazes me how many people have never experienced an ear infection aka the plague of my childhood.
25 March 2014
Going to an acting for film class on Friday! My acting muscle has been itching to get flexed. x)
27 March 2014
So the fact that I'm having difficulty booking my flight back to the US...does that mean I'm just supposed to stay in Europe forever? :P
28 March 2014
Dear US, I will officially be returning to you July 2nd. Someone better be throwing a kick-ass July 4th party to keep my mind off of the reverse culture shock. -.-
29 March 2014
My student got into John Hopkins and wait-listed at Yale (on top of already being accepted to Georgetown). But, you know, American schools are just his safety schools because he wants to go to the UK. -.-
2 April 2014
Dessert tonight was pineapple. The 12 year old walks in the room while we're eating and takes out the chocolate spread to dip a croissant in. One time we bonded when I showed him how delicious strawberries and bananas are dipped in chocolate so I told him he should try it on the pineapple. He tells me he doesn't like pineapple and leaves the room, but leaves the 17 year old APPALLED at the idea of that combo. He tells his father in Italian about my "schifo" idea, and he is equally appalled. But the father decides he's going to try it and walks over to the chocolate with a piece of pineapple in-hand. At first bite, I see him struggle to not like it. Then he makes the "so-so...it's okay" face, which three seconds later turns into, "è buona!" He then proceeds to eat the rest of his pineapple dipped in chocolate and attempts to convince the 17 year old to try it...who refuses.
The funniest part is that the 17 year old had just gotten done lecturing me on how I'm going to miss out on a lot of life since there are some foods I refuse to eat without trying first (after I said no to some weird-looking olives that just didn't look appetizing to me). Hypocrite.
6 April 2014
I swear the 12 year old has a radar for when I don't feel well and have less patience. Unlucky for him, I now know enough Italian to understand how he's trying to justify himself/complain about me to his mother and brother to be able to set the record straight. Knowledge is power. ;)
8 April 2014
Dear sinuses, Can you please stop battling each other so I can go back to school, have patience when working with the 12 year old, be social, and go back to normal life in general? Kthxbye. PS: I know, I know. I miss Sudafed too.
10 April 2014
That time when you go over a new verb tense in class that confuses you and then when you check facebook after class there is a notification with a comment in Italian...in said verb tense. confused_rev emoticon yeah that happened. Stupid conjunctive.
16 April 2014
Oh no. It happened. I have reached that age. That age when there is an actual wedding season and you will be attending it. Several times. For people your own age. Not just relatives. July, August, September...let's celebrate some love!
18 April 2014
I am truly a last-minute packer. I try to get myself to pack early and I just end up cleaning my room instead. I guess that's kind of half the battle. Off to Berlin tomorrow to reunite with some of my favorite Germans and see one of my favorite bands live. Have a Happy Easter and all the jazz :D
18 April 2014
Got bella'd while waiting for the train to the airport. He was persistent in trying to talk to me so I gave in and he wasn't as skeezy as I expected. When he found out I am an American, he told me the following things (in Italian): He's been to Miami, LA, NYC, and Seattle (his favorite). He was a bit afraid of NY because his friend told him to watch out for robbers (though we both agreed it's the same in Roma and Napoli). America is a better country than Italy because there are less taxes and the taxes are cheaper. Obama is a wonderful president, the best after JFK. Bush was awful and loved war and something about 9/11 being his fault. I love when people start rambling at me about American politics. Reminds me of my library days.
27 April 2014
I have officially had the 12 year old cry over the weirdest thing ever. Keep in mind that this is a 12 year old boy who is always running around, drawing on himself, getting crumbs all over the place, and pretty much not caring about appearance. We were starting homework and he was picking a scab on his arm, making the cut he has bleed. I told him not to pick at the scab or else he would get a scar. He started freaking out and doing everything he could to "fix" it, including playing with it, continuously wiping at it, putting makeup on it, and he claimed to try and clean it with nail polish remover. I told him it was best to leave it alone and that scars are no big deal. I showed him some of mine, such as the chicken pox scar on my forehead. Then I made the mistake of saying it looked like he had a small similar one above his eyebrow. He started crying hysterically asking if he could fix it with plastic surgery and saying, "I don't want to look like Jack Nicholson when I'm older! I want to look like Leonardo DiCaprio!!!" I asked him why he was getting so upset, and he goes, "BECAUSE I HAVE A SCAR!" I couldn't stop laughing at the ridiculousness. Since when do 12 year old boys care about scars?!
29 April 2014
I feel like I'm in school again. Discussing absurdest plays with the17 year old and just spewing random theories on themes, symbols, stylistic elements, etc. and hoping it makes sense. Side note: Sorry theatre peeps. I've come to the conclusion that I don't like Pinter.
3 May 2014
My waking nightmare: I walk downstairs this morning to smell the awful scent of seafood wafting through the air. The father and housekeeper are shucking shellfish. They laugh at my reaction, tell me it's all for me, and then the father pulls a live lobster out of the refrigerator to show me. *shudder*
3 May 2014
The 17 year old is having a study date with a girl right now. wink emoticon Imma be mad if he doesn't ask her on a real date in the future.
5 May 2014
I was all like "Buon Cinco de Mayo!" to my Mexican friend in class today and she looks at me funny and goes, "That's an American holiday." -.-
11 May 2014
Reading Romeo and Juliet, I keep discovering old-fashioned English words I've forgotten about that resemble normal Italian words. I.E. "sojourn" (soggiorno) and the old word for ship, "bark" (barca).
13 May 2014
Just taught my parents how to say "We'll talk soon" in Italian. It was precious hearing them try to pronounce "Ci parliamo presto." My father was all like, "Is that spelt C-H-I?" xP
18 May 2014
Waaay too full because I didn't expect there to be cannoli straight from Sicily for dessert (since the father just came back from a work trip there today). We also had authentic ham and cheese arancini. Yah know, because when in Italy...
21 May 2014
My friend and I were walking down a street and I thought to myself, "Strange. It smells like Yankee Candle...but those don't exist here. And then I turned and saw a Yankee Candle. I was transported to New England for a minute there.
Also, summer has arrived in Rome. Hello flip-flops and shorts. ;)
21 May 2014
The 12 year old has been into this trying to pop out and scare me thing lately. Today he did it (though I had heard him ahead of time so it didn't work) and then proceeded to hand me a cookie. They were homemade chocolate chip cookies a classmate had given him. So I guess we're currently good?
23 May 2014
Is it a sign you've become truly Italian when you double-cheek-kiss everyone without thinking about it, even your non-Italian friends that you used to just hug? My American friends are going to be so confused by me...
23 May 2014
Someone pointed out that it's been 4 years today since our RWU graduation. So a whole other college time span has past us by. Weird.
25 May 2014
5 weeks until my birthday. (A little under) 6 weeks and I'll be home in CT. 8 weeks and I'll be in CA watching my beautiful twin-cousin get married. Where the hell did the time go?!
28 May 2014
In a heated discussion with my host mother she said, "We've given you all the permissions to go out, like on Monday nights..." Yup. I'm 16. -.- Three more weeks. Just three more weeks...
30 May 2014
This morning they were paving the road at my bus stop. I went up to the guy overseeing the workers and asked if I could still wait at the bus stop or had to wait somewhere else for the bus. We got to talking and he found out I was American and started asking me all the usual questions I get asked by older Italians. He asked how old I was and then asked if I was "fidanzata" (in a relationship/engaged). I said no and he said, "Che brava!" and gave me this Roman piece of advice: "Amarsi ma non sposarsi" (Love but don't marry). Classic uomo italiano. xP
1 June 2014
Most recent reasons why the 12 year old is the most spoiled child ever:
- Yesterday he refused to accept the money his Grandmother gave him because it was too little. The 17 year old WHO JUST GRADUATED HIGH SCHOOL, along with receiving a whole bunch of awards for academic achievement, got 150 euro. The 12 year old, who is not done with school yet and only in 7th grade, was only given a mere 50 euros. How dare that cold-hearted Nonna? -.-
- This morning the 12 year old, who already had a decent smartphone, tells me he's going to get a Samsung Galaxy s3 today. I told him I was getting the s5 because of a good deal with my phone company and the need for a better functioning SIM card phone in Europe. He scoffed and said, "But it's so expensive. Why would I pay that much when the s3 is just fine?" Then later he tells me excitedly that he is getting the s5 because his dad said he would buy it since it is the newer model and will last longer. So this evening he was playing with that. Then he starts fussing and crying because he finds out his dad and brother went to a pizzeria and didn't swing by the house first to pick him up. God, his life is just SO TERRIBLE.
2 June 2014
Playing hairdresser to yourself for the first time ever at 1AM when you know nothing about cutting hair? I regret nothing, but am very thankful to have curly/wavy hair that will (hopefully) hide whatever mistakes I just made my hair suffer. Goodbye awful dead ends. I hope my favorite hairdresser Shannon won't make fun of the job I just did too much when I get home.
6 June 2014
While bowling tonight, I was thinking about something and right before I bowled thought, "Tell me what the outcome of this will be by what I bowl," and I got a strike. Then I thought, "No way! To be sure, let me bowl a turkey!" and then I bowled like a 4 or something. I think the universe was telling me to cut it with the hubris.
8 June 2014
When I think of/say an English expression and then have no clue how to explain it or even remember what it means exactly. This can be filed under "being the only English mother tongue" problems. Last night the phrase was, "Knock your socks off."
Don't get me started on the times I start to use foreign phrasing instead of the proper English-speaking way just because I hear it used incorrectly all the time. It's "have a picnic," Shannon, not "make a picnic." -.-
...I think I'm losing my English...
9 June 2014
So the 12 year old has an essay exam on Romeo and Juliet on Wednesday. They asked me to prepare an essay that he could study/memorize and use for the test. I protested a little saying they wouldn't be getting the actual topic questions until the test. "Oh don't worry. The topics will be general. He is in 7th grade, after all," they said.
Fine. He had recorded a lecture about the essay by his teacher so I listened and took notes. While I had his very short attention span in hand, I talked to him a little bit about the essay and asked what he wanted to cover. Then I wrote 2 pages.
Asking a college graduate to write an essay that needs to sound like a 7th grader wrote it is difficult. So I wrote it like a first draft (since I knew he would make changes anyway) and didn't get too complicated or wordy.
Now the mother (who is only moderately fluent in English) tells me it's not in depth enough here, and she doesn't like this sentence there, and this here is too broad, and why didn't you cover THIS theme?
-.- 2 more days.
11 June 2014
Dear men, You all look damn fine in your suits but I feel bad when I see you wearing them in this 90+ degree weather. This is one of those rare instances where women have the upper hand with dresses.
Oh, but Italian men, please stop staring at me when I'm wearing a dress as you drive by my bus stop. You're not very subtle. The local puttana is located up the road a bit further. I'm not her.
15 June 2014
Welp, Italy won as I actually watched the game in Italy with Italians. I guess I can officially pretend I care or something about the World Cup now. xP
16 June 2014
I love travelling, but I hate the sad letdown feeling for when you return home (especially if the house happens to be empty). Perhaps this is training for my CT return in about 2 weeks. Anywho, thanks to everyone for showing me a good time in Pescara, despite the awful weather. Magari la prossima volta ci sarà più sole a ottobre. Già mi mancano tutti ;) <3 span="">3>
18 June 2014
Holy crap. I never thought I'd ever be this nervous to see my parents. One more hour. I have not seen my parents (even in Skype/picture form) since July 28, 2013. The Riccio Family Adventure in Rome, here we go...
20 June 2014
Today was a sad day in which I said goodbye to my home and family from the last 10 months of my life. The language barrier between them and my parents didn't last long with wine and food flowing, along with Daniele and I working as translators. (Though I will admit to being thankful that my parents didn't quite understand when the father of the family starting claiming I wanted to stay in Italy because I fell in love. I swear, if a single international girl comes to Italy, every Italian thinks she's here to fall in love or that she will no matter what. But if you actually know gli uomini italiani...-.-)
29 June 2014
Started off 26 out with friends, drinks, hookah, and being serenaded in 6 languages. Not bad
-Correction: 7 languages.
1 July 2014
I've noticed Italians tend to say, "As you wish" instead of "Whatever you want." I feel like I'm surrounded by Wesley's, but no one ever gets my Princess Bride reference...
1 July 2014
USA vs Belgium game tonight. Let's meet at Scholars at 9pm. It's also my last night in Rome. This is an open call to any friend I've made here to come say goodbye tonight. Whatsapp me if you need me ;)
3 July 2014
Welp. Back stateside...
When I left the US, it was raining. Now upon my arrival, it's raining again. I am clearly meant to stay in Europe. I miss it already. I need to see some signs in Italian...
AND THAT concludes the first phase of my Italian-European adventure in Facebook statuses.